New Old Mixtape – “Hot Fuzz”

In cleaning some old crap out of my room, I discovered a CD-R wrapped in notebook paper containing an old mix I made a few years ago, which I remember liking but which had somehow disappeared from my computer. It was inspired when I first heard Deerhunter’s “Nothing Ever Happened”, so it must have been some time in 2008. As with the last mix I posted here, I can’t exactly say what ties these songs together, but there is some connective tissue that may only make sense inside of my head. They’re all fairly long — you could even say “jammy” (oh dear I’ve offended the indie gods with that blasphemous word) — and have a sort of ragged or “fuzzy” quality which led me to think of that stupid title in five seconds. Most importantly, some of my all-time favorites are on here (namely, “Nothing Ever Happened”, “The Light”, and “Yellow Country Teeth”). Each and every one is a phenomenal song, all-time favorite or no.

I didn’t feel like going through the trouble of packaging them together, tagging them as an “album”, and uploading them like I did last time, but do please download the mp3s (by right clicking the track titles and doing the old “Save Target As”) and turn them into a playlist on yr compy because, as always, the order is intentional. And feel free to use that “album art” above that I whipped up in 10 minutes, IF THAT’S WHAT YOU’RE INTO.

01 :: Deerhunter :: “Nothing Ever Happened”
02 :: Peter, Bjorn & John :: “Up Against The Wall”
03 :: Sun Kil Moon :: “Salvador Sanchez”
04 :: Mogwai :: “You Don’t Know Jesus”
05 :: Wolf Parade :: “I’ll Believe In Anything”
06 :: Hayden :: “Dynamite Walls”
07 :: Silversun Pickups :: “Lazy Eye”
08 :: Sun Kil Moon :: “The Light”
09 :: Built To Spill :: “Carry the Zero”
10 :: Grizzly Bear :: “Colorado”
11 :: Clap Your Hands Say Yeah :: “The Skin Of My Yellow Country Teeth”
12 :: Yo La Tengo :: “Pass The Hatchet, I Think I’m Goodkind”

~ by toren on October 4, 2011.

2 Responses to “New Old Mixtape – “Hot Fuzz””

  1. ¿Is this blurred image a picture of Neil deGrasse Tyson?

Leave a Reply

 
