New Jens Lekman – “So This Guy At My Office”

Check out Jens crooning these lyrics with his trademark semi-sincerity over a cheesy, flute-laden, reggae-lite beat on the closing track from his new EP, An Argument With Myself. Dude’s got the touch.

“So this guy at my office
I think he’s up to something
He smells like Earl Grey
You should’ve seen him yesterday
He showed me this video
And it was not even funny
I’m sorry, I’m babbling
Hey, how was your day?

I think, no, keep on talking
Who cares about me
My day starts when you get here
And ends when you leave

La la la la la la la
La la la la la la la
I love you
La la la la la la la
La la la la la la la
I love you”

“So This Guy At My Office”

[audio https://theashtraysays.files.wordpress.com/2011/09/05-so-this-guy-at-my-office.mp3]

~ by toren on September 15, 2011.

2 Responses to “New Jens Lekman – “So This Guy At My Office””

  1. Been waiting for this EP, and I was impressed. Not sure what to label this music, though

  2. August 3rd, 2011

    Picking a fight with Itunes.

    I was in a video store in Melbourne last year, looking for something to eat my popcorn to, when I stumbled across the shelf called “Foreign”. In this shelf were all kinds of genres – comedy, drama, thriller, you name it. Mostly good stuff too. Only common denominator was that the movies were from a non english speaking country. I decided that since my music is all comedy, drama, thriller, you name it, mostly good stuff too AND from a non english speaking country, my music should be filed under “Foreign”.

    But Itunes have their preconceived conception of what music is and should be. I am only allowed to choose between a number of the most common genres. So please, do me a favour and manually re-label all my tracks “Foreign” when you get them, ok?

    Thank you

    From http://www.jenslekman.com/records/smalltalk.htm

Leave a Reply

 
