Stupid quiz, strangely apt

So I’m going through my hard drive and cleaning up and deleting some old crap right now, and I came across this Word document with one of those stupid quizzes that used to circulate via Facebook notes. This one had 20-odd categories and you were supposed to put your full library on shuffle and assign each consecutive song to the next category. Why I did it in the first place is a mystery to me (maybe to show off what an awesome array of artists I had in my library???? eh???), but I must’ve held on to it because the some of the answers were so ridiculously well-suited to the categories. I shit you not, I skipped no songs to get these answers. Some of them are so perfect you couldn’t even come up with them if you tried (check out “First Kiss”). I’ll reprint them all below, keeping the bad ones in there with the amazing ones, so it doesn’t seem like I made the whole thing up.

IF SOMEONE SAYS ‘ARE YOU OKAY’ YOU SAY….?
“love is noise” – the verve

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOURSELF?
“lump sum” – bon iver
[Poetic and true. Kinda like Bon Iver.]

WHAT DO YOU LOOK FOR IN A GUY/GIRL?
“heavy metal” – clap your hands say yeah
[Well played, windows media player.]

HOW DO YOU FEEL TODAY?
“older” – band of horses
[I suppose a lot of things would work for this, but damn.]

WHAT IS YOUR LIFE’S PURPOSE?
“my wife” – beirut

WHAT’S YOUR MOTTO?
“do I do” – stevie wonder

WHAT DO YOUR FRIENDS THINK OF YOU?
“red” – okkervil river

WHAT DO YOUR PARENTS THINK OF YOU?
“another brick in the wall, pt. 2” – pink floyd
[ 😦 ]

WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT VERY OFTEN?
“transatlanticism” – death cab for cutie

WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT YOUR FIRST KISS?
“bigmouth strikes again” – the smiths
[Seriously? Seriously??]

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR BEST FRIEND?
“night dancing” – fool’s gold

WHAT IS YOUR LIFE STORY?
“you” – radiohead

WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE WHEN YOU GROW UP?
“let go” – jj

WHAT DO YOU THINK WHEN YOU SEE THE PERSON YOU LIKE?
“new world” – devotchka
[This one and the previous three are all so great.]

WHAT WILL YOU DANCE TO AT YOUR WEDDING?
“Friday on my mind” – the easybeats

WHAT WILL THEY PLAY AT YOUR FUNERAL?
“Shhh/Peaceful” – miles davis
[Holy shit.]

WHAT IS YOUR HOBBY/INTEREST?
“the island” – the decemberists

WHAT IS YOUR BIGGEST FEAR?
“mr. carter” – lil wayne & jay-z
[lol]

WHAT IS YOUR BIGGEST SECRET?
“while you were sleeping” – elvis perkins
[Incredible.]

WHAT DO YOU WANT RIGHT NOW?
“black mirror” – arcade fire

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR FRIENDS?
“superheroes of bmx” – mogwai
[Pretty much.]

~ by toren on August 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
