On repeat:

I have been enjoying this song so much the past few days I was inspired to whip up that fake single artwork right there which is not very good but was an excuse for me to mess around with Photoshop, trying to do way more ambitious things than what you see above. I’m trying to coach myself out of the impulse to use InDesign for Photoshoppy things because while I know my way around that program much better it really doesn’t do for the fancy stuff. If you were curious (of course you were), the font is trusty ol’ Trebuchet MS.

(Also, while we’re on the subject, if anybody is ever interested in having really nerdy conversations with me about fonts, I am totez down.)

(Also, can any other WordPress users out there confirm that the fullscreen editor is a frustrating piece of garbage?)

I hope you’re enjoying all the musically relevant information I have conveyed in this post so far! This is my current favorite off of Merrill’s extremely awesome album w h o k i l l. I think it shows the full range of her versatile vocals, with impeccable octave-leaps and full-on shouty bluster on display, and is also a fine demonstration of the arranging prowess she developed in creating this album. Happy listening!

“Powa”

[audio https://theashtraysays.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/04-powa.mp3]

~ by toren on July 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
