Big Spider’s Back – “Dead Channel”

So some guy going by the name Big Spider’s Back has an album out called Memory Man on some label called Circle Into Square. And when my brother played it the other day I was like UUUGGGGHHH could this music possibly sound more “of the moment” if it tried? Maybe the guy should’ve just gone ahead and called himself PANDABEARLORDHURONWASHEDOUTSTARSLINGER and gotten it over with.

But I couldn’t deny it: the dude knows how to put some tunes together.  And I thought I GUESS I’LL HAVE TO CHECK OUT HIS ALBUM, GODDAMMIT. It’s one of those short (29 minutes), simple, stylistically coherent albums I’ve been really digging this year. Here’s one of my preferred tracks after two listens through. I think the fake name should give you a pretty good idea what to expect.

“Dead Channel”

[audio https://theashtraysays.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/02_dead_channel.mp3]
~ by toren on July 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
