Destroyer – “Kaputt”

I’ve got another review up at Donnybrook. Check it out.

In a fantastic interview with Pitchfork, Dan Bejar a.k.a. Destroyer makes a number of fascinating revelations about the songwriting process behind Kaputt, but perhaps the most telling is that most of the vocals were recorded “while fixing myself a sandwich,” or “while I was, like, lying down on the couch.” Like, lying down on the couch indeed. The lyric sheet for Kaputt’s nine songs reads like the mutterings of a half-crazy poet as he drifts drunkenly into his afternoon nap, the smell of brandy thick on his breath. And I mean this in the best possible way.

As far as The Ashtray Says goes, I realize it’s been pretty dormant lately, and that’s pretty much how it’s going to be until I graduate in May. At which point I will have a great deal more free time than I do now. I might post sporadically, and I’ll have reviews up at Donnybrook every week or two, but other than that, I just don’t have the time to do much blogging. But check back when summer arrives!

~ by toren on February 28, 2011.

2 Responses to “Destroyer – “Kaputt””

  1. You’re SO cute!

  2. that seems like a spam comment from a person with a fake spam name

Leave a Reply

 
