Joanna Newsom – “Baby Birch”

Joanna Newsom – “Baby Birch” – Have One On Me

I’ve kind of avoided Joanna Newsom since I first became aware of her during the Ys era.  I wasn’t particularly turned off by the music I heard from that album, but neither was I so enthralled that I felt like putting in the work to really “appreciate” that esoteric album, and “develop an opinion” so as to better defend her from haters or hate on her to fans.  And the sheer girth of her brandy-new Have One On Me gave me a convenient reason to continue not worrying about her oeuvre.  But “Baby Birch” is just so good I had to download the album!  So I’m winding my way slowly through it, and it’s pretty enjoyable (especially when she sounds like Joni Mitchell), but there’s nothing that measures up to “Baby Birch”, so far.  Check it out!–and make sure you listen up until the climax about 7 min in.

“Baby Birch”

~ by toren on March 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
