Wilco – Take Away Show for Blogotheque!


Boy was I excited to see that Wilco filmed one of those wonderful little “Concerts a Emportar” with those French new-video masters over at the Blogotheque!  I was a bit disappointed to see that it was for “Country Disappeared” from Wilco (The Album), which probably ranks in, say…the high 80s or low 90s on my list of favorite Wilco songs.  Still, it’s Wilco (from whose song “Shot in the Arm” this blog and my radio show derive their name), so I had to watch it.

Unfortunately, Vimeo videos don’t embed in WordPress blogs, so this link is the best I can do.

Wilco – Country Disappeared – A Take Away Show from La Blogotheque on Vimeo.

It’s not your typical Blogotheque Takeaway, with plugged-in instruments in a non-public location, but Wilco don’t really have time to wander the streets of Paris like those whippersnappers in Bon Iver and Fleet Foxes.  They have families and stuff!  But despite that, and despite “Country Disappeared”, which is not a knock-your-socks-off songs, these guys are just such expert musicians that they’re totally magnetizing to watch.  And the trademark Blogotheque camera style (which is toned down here, much like the performance) adds a lot, too.  AND it’s great to see Glenn sporting some scruff and Pat a full on grizzly-man beard!  Dearest Wilco.  I hope you announce a summer tour so I can continue my summer-Wilco-show tradition, and maybe not get rained out this time.  (Though “I’m the Man Who Loves You” in a torrential downpour is an experience I will not soon forget.)

~ by toren on March 29, 2010.

3 Responses to “Wilco – Take Away Show for Blogotheque!”

  1. […] that they performed for the Blogotheque is even better.  Find the link to that performance in my Wilco-does-Blogotheque post.  And listen to the track […]

  2. Hello, i have a little offtopic question. I like the Layout of this site, can i get the template somewhere? Thank you in behind and best wishes from austria.

Leave a Reply

 
