Song of the Day 3/15

Now that I seem to be starting this blog up again, thought I’d try to bring this back.  We’ll see how long I last; probably depends on how successful I am with the embedded audio player.

This song, called “Wedding Song” is the opening track on Anaïs Mitchell’s just-released Hadestown album.  A little backstory: Mitchell wrote a post-apocalyptic/Depression era folk opera retelling the Orpheus and Eurydice myth.  Now the music from that opera has been committed to recording, and she hooked in Justin Vernon (of Bon Iver) to “play” Orpheus, Ani DiFranco to play Persephone, and veteran folk growler Greg Brown to play Hades.  I’ve been waiting quite a while for this album to come out, and now I just can’t get “Wedding Song” out of my head.  The whole album is quite impressive, so I recommend you buy it.

 

~ by toren on March 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
